Article Details

Bellone Invites Residents to Free Safe Boating Course in East Islip

Categories: County Executive | Author: probinson | Posted: 3/30/2015 | Views: 3544


(SUFFOLK COUNTY, NY March 5, 2015)--Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone, joined by Legislator Tom Cilmi and the Suffolk County Police Department, is inviting residents to take a free boating course scheduled Saturday, March 14 in East Islip.

“There’s no better way to shake off the winter than to think about getting out on the water, but it’s important to do so safely,” County Executive Bellone said. “Anyone who owns or operates a boat will benefit from this free course, improving the safety of everyone who ventures out onto our waters.”

This comprehensive boating safety course will be held at the East Islip Public Library at 381 E. Main St, East Islip,  from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and meets all New York State Safe Boating requirements, teaches the fundamentals of safe boating operation.

“As we look forward to warmer weather, we know that thousands of Suffolk County residents will soon take to the waters to enjoy the beauty that is Long Island,” Legislator Cilmi said.  “Our bays, inlets, the ocean and the Long Island Sound provide a wonderful opportunity for sport and recreation of all kinds and our residents share those waters with a wide variety of commercial enterprises.  Safety is our utmost concern and the law now requires anyone born after May 1, 1996 who wishes to operate a motorboat to successfully complete an approved safe boating course.  Therefore, I am pleased to join with County Executive Bellone and the Suffolk County Police Department Marine Bureau as we invite boaters age ten and up to this free, eight hour course.”

The course will be led by certified instructors from the Suffolk County Police Department Marine Bureau. All  individuals born on or after 5/1/1996 are now required to successfully complete an approved course, such as this one, in order to legally operate a motorboat. 

Students must be at least 10 years of age to register and all participants must register for this course. Participants may register via email at Alexandra.VanDerlofske@suffolkcountyny.gov or by phone at 631-853-5020.

While there is no cost for this course, if you are 18 or older, you will be required to pay a $10 fee to New York State Parks for your boating safety certificate.

Print Bookmark and Share

Return to previous page